MalwareBytes Anti-Ransomeware BETA

RTorella

I have been using MalwareBytes Anti-Malware Premium for several years. I auto update every 2 hours. Recently found out about the rollout of MalwareBytes Anti-Ransomeware BETA. Downloaded and installed fine. When I restart my system, the Anti-Ransomeware program icon appears in my system toolbar and system tray. The startup shortcut set itself up as "minimum" which typically does not appear in the bottom toolbar. The icon also is highlighted as if open on the desktop or minimized to the toolbar.  See attached screenshot. I have to click on that icon, which opens the program on my desktop, then click the close button on the Anti-Ransomeware top right, to force the icon to close from the toolbar. The system tray icon remains intact as it should.

Another question: I contacted tech support and inquired as to why Ransomeware is not something that MalwareBytes Anti-Malware protects against. The agent provided me with a blog link that defined "ransomeware" as a type of malware. Their own words! My question was why the Anti-Malware premium paid version does not have that protection. Yet they rolled out a BETA randomware program. They could not answer why the current Anti-Malware does not protect against. Only that he is tech support not software development. I run a computer business and now I am concerned that my clients are not adequately protected with Norton Internet Security and MalwareBytes Anti-Malware software. I went ahead and paid for the Anti-Exploit program. But I will not pay for a third program for randomware protection when their own description lists randomware as malware!