Jump to content

Recommended Posts

So as many users know, today for a few hours Malwarebytes was throwing up several pop-ups about 'gstatic.com'. They say it has been fixed as in no pop-ups anymore. But what was it blocking? Some people have said it is a Google domain for serving static content like images etc. Yet some pages state it is a piece of malware that can redirect browser entries and create malicious pop-up ads. So I just wanted to know were the pop-ups about blocking the Google domain or blocking a legitimate piece of malware? Thanks

Link to post
Share on other sites

That is correct.  In fact, the pop-ups were warning you that the site mentioned was blocked from being accessed, preventing infection in the case that it had been a truly malicious site.  The pop-ups were not informing you of infection, but rather,, prevention of possible infection.

Short story - you're good.

Link to post
Share on other sites

You're very welcome :)

Actually, to add to that, here is an example of what you should have been seeing, and what it means:  https://www.malwarebytes.org/support/guides/mbam/notifications.html#web_block

That is taken from the the MBAM Windows Users Guide (in HTML format for online viewing), which can be fully viewed from here:  https://www.malwarebytes.org/support/guides/mbam/

Finally, here is the page with all guides listed, including those in PDF format for offline viewing:  https://www.malwarebytes.org/support/guides/

Have a great day :)

Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is now closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

Back to top
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.