Hi folks,

I'm a veteran user of Malwarebytes Antimalware and both using since the initial release on my ancient Windows XP SP2 (not SP3 for private reasons) and Windows 7 SP1. I have MBAMService on my Windows 7 as it should be, BUT on my Windows XP SP2 32-bit box, the MBAMService is missing on "services.msc" service list, but the file is present on "C:\Program Files\Malwarebytes Anti-Malware" physically.

I'm using Free (Home) edition currently with 2.2.1.1043 version.

Although MbamService is missing in "services.msc" service list, the program runs just fine including "rootkit scan" and gives no error.

Here are the screenshots, why is this?

I appreciate for the comments, thanks in advance!

MBAMSS2.JPG

MBAMSS1.JPG

Hello and Welcome!

Here is my best guess, being that I am not a developer for Malwarebytes.

It probably has to do with the inner workings of Windows.  Windows 7 has more capabilities than want Windows XP has and can handle, and things run different in both OS's.  I would say that the file mbamservice.exe can not run as a service in XP.

Staff will correct me if I am wrong.

In addition to what @Firefox has written, I'll also guess that since you are using the free version, the service, which on XP I believe is only needed if you run real-time scanning, is not actually installed until you either make the switch or else allow the installer to install MBAM as a service on initial install of the product.

I may be wrong, as I haven't used XP in a long time, but when I was first exposed to the product and started Beta testing it, I seem to recall the time when adding the service to the product was a topic of discussion, and that it was optional for installations that were on-demand only.  I also seem to recall another discussion where this behavior change in Windows 7 (perhaps actually Vista+) whereby the service was installed by default.