[SOLVED] MBAE detecting Spotify

catscomputer

I downloaded MBAE today and am using the premium trial version. I created a custom shield for Spotify, and initially set it to the profile "browsers" as per the FAQ. I got a pop up from MBAE upon launching Spotify as per the pic below saying it had blocked a malicious exploit.

I searched the forum re MBAE & Spotify and I found this post: https://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?/topic/170569-mbae-detecting-and-blocking-exploit-code-in-spotify/ > it would appear from the replies to the OP that this issue was resolved in version 1.07. I tried using "chrome browser" as per pbust's reply, but the problem still persists. I'm not sure if the block I am getting is the same as the poster in the other thread. It may be a completely separate issue. I find if I use "other" as a profile then Spotify launches OK (it is the only profile that allows Spotify to launch), but I'm worried that doing this is allowing an actual malicious process (i.e. not a FP / wrong choice of profile / conflict of some kind).

I hope I have done the logs and zip file right. I couldn't find anything called the "MBAE user data directory" as per the FAQ, so I just zipped up the entire contents of the MBAE folder on the file pathway provided. (NB I did unhide hidden folders). My system specs are all in my signature. Incidentally, Spotify.exe is located here: C:\Users\[name of my PC]\AppData\Roaming\Spotify\Spotify.exe - with every other app I made a custom shield for the relevant exe file to launch the programme is in either program files or program files(x86), could that different pathway have something to do with it?

Please could you advise if this is something to be concerned about, and if it is safe to use "other" profile in the custom shield for Spotify? Many thanks.