Msg: "Unable to access update server" (but doubted)

MBAM used to work fine for me, but now appears to time out trying to update the database.

Or I have a rootkit, but MBAR says no, as does Kaspersky's TDSSkiller.

Running Windows 7, but which I infrequently boot.  Having been a few months since last, I tried to run MBAM free version, 2.0 I think, first thing, as I've become accustomed to doing after letting it fall behind for so long.

It balked at the manual "update" complaining in the end "unable to access update server."

I first decided perhaps a new version of MBAM was in order, or perhaps I was offered an update, but I ended up installing v2.2.0.1024 first over and then alongside the older version. Same behavior regardless.

Finally started reading the forums and learned about clean install. Did that with mbam-clean.exe. Twice, once for each version, rebooting in between. Installed 2.2.0.1024 cleanly. Same complaint/behavior.

I've since spent four days using liveCDs to hunt for a rootkit and other malware which might be in place preventing MBAM from phoning home.

However, lately I'm beginning to suspect MBAM's update server is dropping me on my head because I suffer from a very low-speed internet connection--which however I still pay royally for.

Here's the behavior whether running MBAM as administrator or as limited user:

* 2.2.0.1024 comes up reporting a database version of "v2015.09.22.05" (Yellow dot)

* Clicking "Update" returns a msg "Checking for Updates" and animated blue bars scrolling across L->R

* after a time "Updating database" appears and a new sequence of much shorter bars begin "stepping across" the screen L->R, but only make about 3 steps before, after a lonnng wait

* reporting "Unable to access update server"

* and then erasing that and returning to reporting "v2015.09.22.05". If you haven't been paying close attention you might even miss the "Unable" message.