PC TOOL & Spyware Doctor

I used Spyware Doctor a few months ago by PC Tools.

Unfortunately I used the registry cleaner without realizing I shouldn't and that it is advised to NOT use it. I hope I haven't damaged my computer by doing that.

anyway, does anyone know anything about PC Tools and/or Spyware Doctor?

I thought that they seemed like a real company, and their customer support is helpful too, even though it was hard to get ahold of someone, but I finally found an email.

I am concerned because when browsing through the forums and on the HJT log forum especially, I see people talking about Spyware Doctor being an infection and causing trouble, and thats the program I used a few months ago, and now I am a little scared.

They are a real company but I'm not a big fan of their software, especially Spyware Doctor. It's too much of a resource hog and its detection rates aren't that great and I've seen too many serious infections easily get past it (I used to be a PC tech at a retail chain that had a deal with PCTools to sell their software so I used it a lot and we installed it on a lot of PC's). It proved itself to be pretty ineffective against removing really nasty threats and other tools had to be used. All that being said, PCTools are a legitimate company and Spyware Doctor is a legitimate program, I simply classify them along with Webroot (who makes SpySweeper) with Norton and McAfee, they are the biggest vendors in the security business and they've gotten so big that they care more now about profits than quality and protection of their customers' machines. They all too often miss detecting the newest threats and their products slow down the computers they are installed on dramatically and they tend to cause problems when running them alongside other security softwares. These companies all used to be the best money could buy, but they got so popular because of that that they focused more on marketing than quality of their product, resting on their laurels a