Malwarebytes v.2 Free - I Do Not Like It

I've been relying on Malwarebytes as on demand scanner for three years and it has helped removed a few nasties during that time.

But literally overnight it has been rendered almost unuseable simply because I have been forced to update to v.2 from v.1.75. I did an, as recommended, full uninstall and then reinstalled v.1.75 but if I want the data base updates, which of course I do, then it updates the whole program again. There's apparently no going back. :(

Why do I dislike v.2? Principally because the new "Threat" scan speed, particularly for on demand scans of individual files ie. downloads is now about three times as slow. This is or rather was the main point of having it for me, a quick and easy scan just to check there's been nothing let through by my AV.

Depending on size v.1.75 would do most stuff in under a minute. With v.2 I've just had to wait over 3 minutes for the pre-scan operation checks on a e-mail <200KB attachment. The file itself was checked in just a few seconds.

I thought this might be a one off so I checked other small files or that the scan speed might be improved by leaving the program running but unfortunately apparently not.

The only thing that is improved is the fact you don't have to close Malwarebytes now to be be able to use the right mouse click context menu option as an on demand scanner on different files you want to scan individually.

I dread to think how long the full system scan I do at least once a month will now take.

The scan also seems to be taking up more resources, another reason not to keep it running.  Together with the annoying self-promotional antimated banner ads it means I can't do anything else whilst a scan is running. Admittedly my P4 based system is old but there was no problem like this with v1.75 doing the same tasks.

If there is any setting change or something else I can do speed things up I'd be delighted to hear about it. 

Hi: