MBAM Overscanning(?) irregardless of scan settings...

Hey,

I've been using MBAM (paid and free) for more than 5 years and it's always been seemed solid.

A couple of weeksago I installed the free vs w/out using the free trial option. When doing a 'custom' scan I can uncheck everything, no memory objects, no r/kits, no startup objects, heuristics etc... and select a folder on my desktop with a couple of text files in it and the scanner does it's 'pre-scan-op' routine and then scans something "heuristically" to the count of 239,000 to 241,000 objects in less than 2 minutes. When I look at the detailed view of the log file I cannot see any proof it scanned what I asked it to or any info on the 200,000+ objects it just scanned 'heuristically'. It tells me how long it took, what scan parameters are disabled (everything but file system) even though it scans heuristically it says it's disabled. I can only ASS-U-ME that I'm not coherent enough to figure out what I'm doing wrong. Also, when i use the context menu and choose "scan with Malwa..." the tray icon loads up immediately but it does not scan what I asked it to whether the database was just updated or not. the new UI/dashboard does eventually pop up and allow me to manually scan. In the last version, right-clicking and selecting MBAM would be finished before Avira could even open up.

sorry about the looong post and my spell checker isn't working,

michael clyde

BTW -

se7en x64, Avira Free, Comodo, (F/W only) Sandboxie, Acronis B&R 11.5 Advanced Wrkstn, (nothing in acronis is running, no processes, no svcs) VMWare Wrkstn 10.0.2,(nothing running) Returnil Sys Safe Free,(nothing running) no UAC. they all have been playing together for over 5 years, no problems, no infections, nothing. Even Windows Explorer hasn't crashed in 5 years

Hello and :welcome:

Hard to tell what's going on without knowing what version of Malwarebytes and OS you are using, and without any logs. Lets try this:

Thank You,

Hi: