Auto update doesn't work

I'm a Pro user and I've been using the pro version for probably a year now and as far as I know auto update has never worked. I've read dozens of forum posts going all the way back to 2008 where others had this issue and I never saw any real resolutions.

1. MBAM Scheduler Service is running and is set to auto-start

2. MBAM runs on Windows start

3. My account is administrator level

4. My computer is always on and logged in during the scheduled update time

5. I do have an update task set in the MBAM scheduler

6. I checked the Windows Task Scheduler and there are no tasks for MBAM

7. I tried creating my own Windows Task Scheduler update task using the command line calling "C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe" /update -silent as mentioned in the mbam.chm help file, but every time I ran the command line it would bring up a pop-up window saying that Malwarebytes is already running.

Windows Vista 64-bit, SP2, all Windows updates.

Bitdefender AV, but previously used Norton and it never updated then either.

Thanks.

Solved (sort of):

A reboot solved the problem with the "Malwarebytes is already running" issue when running the update from the command line. So I was successfully able to make a Windows Task Scheduler task to update it using:

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\mbam.exe" /update -silent

So I guess the task scheduler in MBAM doesn't work but as long as I can do it myself with Windows TS, good enough.

Hello and :welcome:

Sorry you are having issues with your Malwarebytes, there is no reason to have to do it using the windows task scheduler, if you like someone can look at your logs to figure out why its not updating as it should.....

Please run the tools below and ATTACH (do not copy and paste) the logs so someone can better assist you.

Please post an mbam-check log:

Create an mbam-check log:

• Download mbam-check.exe from here and save it to your desktop