page hijacked by eBay?

Hi All

I have probably been noticing this for a while but put it down to "fat-fingering" on my part. Today, it was so noticeable I followed through. I'm studying Ancient Greek and use the Perseus Tufts site (http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/) and its invaluable help tool, the "Greek Word Study Tool". It's a finicky business, and there's nothing that makes you want to immolate the next marketer you come across as having the page you're really having to concentrate on to read suddenly be replaced by an ad for eBay.

I use Firefox, so when this had happened a few times, I thought my cursor must have gone wandering and somehow activated the eBay link onthe Bookmarks toolbar. I went into Firefox's Options and closed the bookmarks toolbar, then into Bookmarks and deleted everything on the page (Yes, I was seriously p...d!)

Then I went back to work, noticing only then the mini-icon on the Word Tool tab! It wasn't the "little running man" of Perseus, but the multi-coloured shopping bag of eBay! I closed the tab and re-opened a Word Tool tab from the main page link - no Shopping-bag!

I'm assuing I (and probably many) have some widget that grabs a page and programs it to flip to someone's ad. I imagine also that it's not one, but one of a family of such software. I'm aware MBAM (I have the paid-up 1.70.0.1100) is getting aggressive on PUPs and hope it really is. Back to the phenomenon I described above. Is this being experienced by others? Is it the result of a PUP or user "fat-fingering"?

All advice appreciated.

Cheers

ausgumbie

Hi, ausgumbie: :)

It's impossible to say for sure without seeing the MBAM scan logs, but....
It sounds as if you might have some adware and/or malware on the system.
You're also running an older version of the program --  v.1.70 was released in Dec 2012.
The current version is 1.75