Hello,

My boyfriend recently got a virus on his computer.  I wish I could remember the name of it, but I don't.  Anywho, he came running to me because I'm a programmer, and people often mistake programmers as people who can fix computers.  I was able to remove the virus, but now Internet Explorer is having some trouble.

When I open Explorer I get a blank screen and a spinning wheel forever.  I am unable to close the program or access the tools.  I read though this post: (  http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=33273  )  which suggested that I access Explorer's LAN settings and uncheck Proxy if it is checked. 

However, I'm not sure how to do this without opening Internet Explorer.  

Here's the catch.  My boyfriend's first language is not English so when I right click on Explorer all of my options are in Japanese.  If possible (sorry for the extra request) please screen shot how I can access my LAN settings, or at least be a bit more specific as to where each button is located.

Thanks a bunch for reading this, and sorry for the extra trouble!

"...which suggested that I access Explorer's LAN settings and uncheck Proxy if it is checked."

Go to; Control Panel --> Internet Options --> Connections --> Lan settings
Uncheck all check box locations.

If you feel that there can be further "malware" on this PC, please read; I'm infected - What do I do now? and then post in...

Malware Removal Help

Thanks for your response David.  

Now here comes the really annoying part of my request.  I was able to get so far as Control Panel --> Internet Options.  However, I do not know the Japanese word for "Connections".  Any ideas as to which button it might be ( guessing by location an images )?

Thanks for putting up with me!  :)

comp_zps15d03e82.jpg

Hi:

Until DHL returns, it looks as if the OS is Vista or 7?

Here are some screen grabs from Win7:

kgLhRgv.png

CngJ3as.png

fQIn55W.png

hAD1GmV.png