MBAM - off a thumbdrive?

Hi. I have a desktop AMD64 and Win XP Pro SP2 which the grandkids got into and I got a whole bunch of really nice crudware. I've been able to remove or resolve most of it using Autoruns if I'm quick enough - see below. Windows Explorer has been grabbed by something. The desktop comes up, icons are all there, 15 seconds later, icons disappear but then reappear for another 15 seconds and then we go round and round. I know something's got a hold of explorer.exe because I can see it launch and close in Task Manager. Task Mgr does not show any out-of-sorts process running so this has got to be a rootkit. In fact, I can boot with the option for minimum services using msconfig. I have the same symptoms in safe mode too... once Explorer.exe dies system comes back and tells me "I'm in safe mode....etc. etc...."

I have a copy of MBAM shorcutted on the desktop and off the Start menu but it fails to run with error: MBAM has encountered and error and needs to close..." (not the exact wording but it appears to be a general fault genuine error box). So I'm thinking if I could get MBAM to run off a thumbdrive, I might be able to clear this off.

Is it possible to install MBAM (say, on another computer) to a thumbdrive and then bring it over to the sick system and scan/clean this up? Are there instructions which I can't seem to find? I know how I can get the latest pattern/signature file and manually apply the updates.

Thanks for some nice software and a really nice forum!

Hoib

Hoib,

I believe you can run the installer off a flash drive since you can run Taskmanager and TM is not affected by the cyclic re-start of Explorer.

In TMs Applications tab click New Task, browse to the installer on the thumb drive and then run it.

To run MBAM after the install do the same thing with TM but browse to the program file in C:\Program Files\Malware... I don't have a machine here with MBAM installed for the exact path, sorry.

I hope this helps.

Hoib,