I am sick of this hidden virus...."alureon" Please advise, thanks.

Hello! See title....I have been getting Microsoft warnings of Malicious Software on my computer along with a message that Microsoft has been only able to partially remove the threat. This happens more often lately. I have run both Malwarebytes (always finds a threat, says removed, not true), and Avast! which doesn't even find any threats at all.

I'm a computer novice, but even I found the Virus in question. It's the same one that has been there for weeks. It is called Alureon/. It doesn't appear to effect day to day operations of the computer itself, but who knows what it is doing in the background.

Why Malwarebytes is able to locate and say it's removed but it's still there, I don't know. I read that a download of Kaspersky TDSS Killer will solve the issue. Can you tell me if this is accurate? I want to fix this without having to resort to calling IYogi or taking my computer somewhere. Thank-you so much.

Jayne. :)

PS Can you advise how dangerous you think this alureon is? I don't keep banking info online, but have email, other various password accounts, etc.

Hello Jayne! My name is Borislav and I will be glad to help you solve your malware problem.

Please note:

• If you are a paying customer, you have the privilege to contact the help desk at Consumer Support. If you choose this option to get help, please let me know.
  • I recommend you to keep the instructions I will be giving you so that they are available to you at any time. You can save them in a text file or print them.
  • Make sure you read all of the instructions and fixes thoroughly before continuing with them.
  • Follow my instructions strictly and don’t hesitate to stop and ask me if you have any questions.
  • Post your log files, don't attach them. Every log file should be copy/pasted in your next reply.