Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'secure preferences'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Announcements
    • Malwarebytes News
    • Beta Testing Program
  • Malware Removal Help
    • Windows Malware Removal Help & Support
    • Mac Malware Removal Help & Support
    • Mobile Malware Removal Help & Support
    • Malware Removal Self-Help Guides
  • Malwarebytes for Home Support
    • Malwarebytes 3 Support Forum
    • Malwarebytes for Mac Support Forum
    • Malwarebytes for Android Support Forum
    • Malwarebytes for iOS Support
    • False Positives
    • Comments and Suggestions
  • Malwarebytes for Business Support
    • Malwarebytes Endpoint Protection
    • Malwarebytes Incident Response (includes Breach Remediation)
    • Malwarebytes Endpoint Security
    • Malwarebytes Business Products Comments and Suggestions
  • Malwarebytes Tools and Other Products
    • Malwarebytes AdwCleaner
    • Malwarebytes Junkware Removal Tool Support
    • Malwarebytes Anti-Rootkit BETA Support
    • Malwarebytes Techbench USB (Legacy)
    • Malwarebytes Secure Backup discontinued
    • Other Tools
    • Malwarebytes Tools Comments and Suggestions
  • General Computer Help and Security Updates
    • BSOD, Crashes, Kernel Debugging
    • General Windows PC Help
  • Research Center
    • Newest Rogue-Ransomware Threats
    • Newest Malware Threats
    • Newest Mobile Threats
    • Newest IP or URL Threats
    • Newest Mac Threats
    • Report Scam Phone Numbers
  • General
    • General Chat
    • Forums Announcements & Feedback

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Location


Interests

Found 1 result

  1. When Malwarebytes finds some malicious (mostly adware or PUP) settings/startpages/searchengines in your Chrome, it will address this. (Note, Malwarebytes doesn't really delete the Chrome Secure Preferences file when a detection occurs) However, some of you may notice it will always come back after the Malwarebytes scan. In that case, it might be because you are still using an older version of Malwarebytes, and/or it's most likely because you have Chrome Sync enabled. The following instructions need to be done in the EXACT order as outlined below in this post. So first of all, make sure you have the latest version of malwarebytes installed: https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/ Perform another scan, make sure Google Chrome is closed, have it remove what it has found, reboot if being asked to. Then verify if the detection is gone. If not... then it's most probably because of Chrome Sync that is enabled. To deal with this, please follow the steps below in the exact order as outlined: Open your Chrome. Go to Settings > People > Sync and Google services (or alternatively, enter the following in the addressbar: chrome://settings/syncSetup) On the page, Click the Data from Chrome Sync as a first step, Then, click "Turn off" as a second step When you click the Turn off, Click the "Sign out" at the prompt. On the new tab that is still open, this is where your Chrome data is located on the server (alternatively, go to the following url: https://chrome.google.com/sync?hl=en-US ) REFRESH that page!! - Because since you signed out of Chrome, if you don't refresh, resetting sync won't work and you'll get the error: "This Chrome settings page is no longer available" Sign in with your chrome credentials there. scroll below to the bottom of the page and click RESET SYNC Close your Chrome browser. Do NOT enable sync yet, as you need to perform another scan with Malwarebytes first in order to fix Chrome. Perform a new scan with Malwarebytes and let it delete what it has found. Reboot in case it asks to reboot. Verify after a next scan the detection doesn't occur anymore. If results come back clean, you can enable Google Sync again. It will ask for your username first, in order to log in - Once that is done, it should automatically enable Sync again. You can adjust the sliders what you want to sync. If you have multiple Operating systems, run malwarebytes on it first before logging back into Chrome. This to make sure the malware is also cleaned from the other PC(s). If not cleaned, it will sync the malware from the "uncleaned" PC back again to the server and then back to your clean PC.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.