Jump to content


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

About maudlin

  • Rank
    New Member
  1. Thanks so much! I really appreciate all the help you've provided. I installed the Block Site extension a while ago but found it to be pretty buggy, so I disabled it. Checking my FF, I can see that Mozilla added it to their blocked list just last week. I'll uninstall it now. One remaining issue: It was the duplicate malicious site notification in Thunderbird that first aroused my suspicions that something had gotten through my defenses because the IP address identified in each alert was different. 1 - Should I be suspicious if I see duplicate notifications across Mozilla apps again? (This is actually the second time this has happened over the past week.) 2 - Are duplicate notifications (with or without consistent IP addresses) a known design issue or bug? (If this isn't the right thread for these questions, please let me know what other part of the forum I should go to.)
  2. Sorry! I've run FRST again as admin. Here are the files. FRST.txt Addition.txt
  3. Thanks for the detailed response! To clarify, the display of notifications is not an ongoing problem. After launching, closing and re-launching Thunderbird, the alert went away. The alert also went away in Firefox after showing up just once. So I won't be turning off notifications at all as I really prefer to browse with them on. But I have run the FRST scans and they are attached. FRST.txt Addition.txt
  4. My laptop is running Windows 8.1 and I have Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Home Premium installed. I clicked a Google search result yesterday in Firefox and got this alert: Malicious Website Blocked Domain: www.hitcpm.com IP: Type: Outbound Process: C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe I backed out of Google and believed that between the app and NoScript, I wasn't affected by whatever was on the dodgy site. I ran a full scan just to be sure in MWB and nothing showed up, which is what I expected. But when I switched back to Thunderbird, an almost identical alert showed again. Malicious Website Blocked Domain: www.hitcpm.com IP: <== Note different IP Type: Outbound Process: C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Thunderbird/thunderbird.exe I ran the scan again and still nothing. I also ran a full scan with Windows Defender and everything was clean. My questions: 1) If the software successfully blocked the malicious site in Firefox, why did I get a slightly different alert, with a different IP address, in Thunderbord? Are there some shared processes between Mozilla apps? Please note that every time I boot Firefox, I get a brief alert that "Mozilla Firefox (and add-ons) is now protected by Malware Anti-Exploit Beta". I never get this alert when launching Thunderbird. 2) Are there any additional steps I should take now?
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.