Jump to content

doray

Honorary Members
  • Content Count

    48
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About doray

  • Rank
    New Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Malwarebytes Browser Guard is blocking GraphicConverter's download site, and I think it shouldn't be. It's blocking https://www.lemkesoft.info/files/graphicconverter/gc11.dmg which is accessed from https://www.lemkesoft.de/en/products/graphicconverter/ Should that in fact be blocked? I'm concerned about downloading the latest version of GraphicConverter, even though I've had previous versions for years.
  2. Good point, exile360. Perhaps Malwarebytes could give a notification such as: "You're on the free version. If you purchased a premium subscription, please input your license key." That would notify people without creating confusion.
  3. Thanks, exile360. What you mention is ideal -- but most people are not experts and may not go into the applications much at all unless they need to or they notice something's wrong. But if they don't get notifications, then they won't realize something's wrong. If a software has a separate free version and a premium version, then people presumably chose to get just the free version. But if the two are the same software *and* it reverts to free mode when you get a new device, and if the software is vital -- as anti-malware software is -- then I think it's the responsibility of the software
  4. Thank you so much for your candid response! My comment, then: Many people don't think too much about this sort of stuff. People would be in danger of thinking they had the premium version and not realizing the software had reverted to free and they weren't adequately protected. So although too many notifications might hassle folks who are using Malwarebytes for free, I'd think it would be reasonable to show a few reminders. I'd say Malwarebytes has a greater responsibility to those people who've paid for the premium version! Malwarebytes could also show notifications that had a
  5. Feature request: Although too many notifications might hassle folks who are using Malwarebytes for free, I'd think it would be reasonable to show just a couple of reminders, for those people who forget to activate the premium version, or perhaps if they transfer to a new computer and forget (or don't know) to re-activate their license. I'd say Malwarebytes has a greater responsibility to those people who've paid for the premium version! Malwarebytes could also show a notification that had a "Don't remind me again" checkbox.
  6. P.S.: Does the license key transfer if you use Setup Assistant or Migration Assistant to transfer to a new computer?
  7. What happens if someone doesn't re-input their license key when transferring to a new device? Do they get a notification that Malwarebytes is not on the premium version? It would be easy for someone to forget or not know to do that, and then they would not be on the premium version -- they'd be unprotected and wouldn't realize it. Also, does Malwarebytes notify you if you have too many devices on your account? Thank you!
  8. Thank you so much! It's an honor to get a response from experts -- and from the developer himself!
  9. Thank you, good point. Would it be possible for Malwarebytes to know that someone has paid but not activated their license key, and then just send that person reminders?
  10. My family members have Malwarebytes for Mac, and my sister *thought* she had it and even paid to renew it, but it turns out she never activated the premium version so it was running the free version. Does Malwarebytes for Mac give notifications if you forget to input your license key and activate the premium version? If not, it would be easy to forget and think you'd taken care of it because you'd paid.
  11. The Rakuten credit card site is being blocked by Malwarebytes Browser Guard for Chrome, and I believe it's a false positive. The site is: rakutencreditcard.com
  12. It occurred to me that if one's Malwarebytes for Mac's subscription lapsed (say, if something happened to the primary person on the account), would others on the account be notified so that they could protect their computers and get their own subscription? I contacted support, and they said no -- Malwarebytes would send an email only "to the address with which it is purchased." I'd like to suggest that this is unsafe for others on the account, and to submit a feature request that emails and/or notifications be sent to everyone on the account if their subscription is in danger of lapsing.
  13. Trying to reply to @treed's post, but I'm not sure how! As a layperson but someone who's interested in this topic, I have to say that laypeople often don't think too much about the potentially serious implications of things like turning off notifications. They're likely to think that they just don't want too many notifications from various apps, and not know whether one particular app will give too many notifications or not. They don't realize that they'll miss critical notifications that way -- if they think about it at all, they'd probably assume they would get critical notifications, s
  14. Thanks, @exile360! You're a great help here on the forums. Some applications say that if you're having trouble installing their software, one thing to try is disabling your antivirus. Or people might think they should disable it when transferring/migrating between computers. So it's not necessarily a reflection on the product that people -- maybe misguidedly -- might feel a need to disable it. That said, giving an option to disable it for a specified period of time would be better than disabling it altogether. Maybe that plus notifications/reminders! Many people don't go into their M
Back to top
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.