Jump to content

netpog

Members
  • Content Count

    4
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About netpog

  • Rank
    New Member
  1. In case I'm not the only one who didn't know this, @exile360's advice in comment #18 above is correct and excellent, and helps you exclude those specific Registry Values, not the overall threat. I, too, wanted to exclude those two items from scans, for privacy protection, but I saw no way to do so. Although you can use the Settings to exclude files, folders, websites, applications, and exploit processes (?), the only way to exclude a registry value is after detection, if you de-select those items, then click Next. This is not at all obvious. I submitted a bug report just now, in this comment, which I surely posted to the wrong thread, in the wrong forum, but I'm new here. Dan
  2. Thank you, Mieke, I see that you are of course correct (re how to exclude a registry key). And I appreciate that there may be malware that you cannot otherwise flag, unless you also flag what is, in my case at least, a false positive. Of course better to be more cautious, not less. In light of this, I'll suggest only that the process for excluding registry values is entirely too subtle. I suggest these two enhancements: 1) Bug: The "Add Exclusion Wizard" does not include an option for registry keys/values. This is what led me to believe that it wasn't possible Expected: For all possible exclusions to be available from "Settings : Exclusions : Add Exclusions", rather than having certain "Exclusion Types" accessible only after the item is detected. 2) Bug: Although "Ignore Once" is redundant with the prior screen's "Cancel" button (which is fine), the "Ignore Always" option is very valuable. (Essential, in light of #1, above.) But that option is insufficiently-obvious. Worse, the user is discouraged from finding it: the "Threat Scan Results" screen speaks *only* of quarantine, with no hint that "do not quarantine" is synonymous with "show me the otherwise-invisible and -undisclosed exclusion options". To the contrary, that the screen says explicitly "If you don't want to quarantine ..., click Cancel"! I would be surprised if they were discovered by a first-time user in a proper usability test. (I.e. with undirected prompts, such as: "Yes, that screen includes possible threats, both of which you want to exclude from future MBAM detections. Why don't you exclude them both, now?") Expected: Those buttons to be visible in the "Threat Scan Results" screen. I expect to select items, and then select the action. Almost as good: Have another line of text in that screen: "To exclude any of these options from future scans, unselect them, then click Next." This would be an easier fix to implement, although it remains clunky and non-intuitive. For your consideration... - Dan S, another usability curmudgeon in Boston
  3. I'm pretty sure this refers to two registry keys, both in "hklm\software\[wow6432node\]policies\microsoft\mrt", named dontreportinfectioninformation". (The log file is no-longer available.) In fact, this is a perfectly-safe and -cromulent privacy setting, that does not inhibit the client-side activities of Microsoft's MRT. As the community becomes increasingly aware of the depth of the phone-home behavior of MRT, you'll be hearing more about this one. Problem is, we cannot do so! Short of a blanket exclusion of the threat, there's no affordance -- no means within MBAM -- to exclude a registry key. I'd like to hear from my MBAM scans about other instances of this threat, while excluding these two keys. At least: there's none that I can find. I'd love to be wrong about this detail. There's more discussion of this false positive in this recent forum thread. Thanks for your consideration, and for any help you can give with this one. Dan S
  4. This is confusing, and discourages upgrades entirely. (One user waited until I could tell her which answer to give.) The *strong* implication is that there's a licensing implication. And please note, MB staff, that *everyone* wonders what functional difference there might be. ("Really? It only changes the ads you show me? And why ARE you showing me ads after I've paid for the product, anyway?!?") So this feature subtracts value, with its pure failure to explain either why you're asking or the implications of either answer. That's aside from the arguably trivial value to the user. SUGGESTION: Gather your user data through surveys. Avoid going all Facebook on us, trying to extract data from all the users, while squandering the trust we have in you. Don't be Yahoo: value the trust we have in you, and protect it.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.