Jump to content

David H. Lipman

  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Days Won


Everything posted by David H. Lipman

  1. That code segment has zero detections by all participating vendors at Virus Total... https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/7ba7ad1783cb9ab6a7abb544a9ba372504aca0df257fa973410a5fa6b0342e6f/detection Malwarebytes Anti Malware (MBAM) does not target scripted malware via signatures so assuming the script snippet was malicious, MBAM would not "detect" it.
  2. The forum has the Research Center for submissions. I will request this thread be moved to; Newest Malware Threats a sub-forum of the Research Center.
  3. MBAM does not target scripted malware via signatures. Thus MBAM will not "detect" a BAT/CMD file. MBAM uses its anti exploitation module to block ill-effects a script may perform. This sub-forum is specifically for individuals who are seeking assistance with removing malware from their Windows Computer by a trained Forum Helper. Do you need such assistance ?
  4. The Intel i3 CPU is not that great. It's better than a Celeron or Pentium but not as good as an i5 or i7, etc. The Intel i5 has probably the best performance price ratio. There are two types of storage. Primary and Secondary. Primary storage is Fast RAM. Secondary Storage is slower Solid State Drives or Spindle Drives (15K RPM, 7,200 RPM and 5,200 RPM are the slowest) You need to raise the RAM ceiling so the %Memory used, shown in Task Manager, is reduced. How you can upgrade the RAM is dependent upon the Make and Model. You may have two memory module slots whe
  5. That's too little. If you are running Windows 10 64bit, you want at least 8GB RAM.
  6. PCRisk is giving very poor quality information and its not new. It is so generic and vanilla. Its made to capture the eye of someone who just doesn't know much about malware. The site is all about supplying insufficient information such that you choose I see other "guides" as well also indicate Maybe for affiliate revenue of some kind. Malwarebytes software is best downloaded directly from Malwarebytes itself and not from PCRisk. In any case Malwarebytes will handle any form of malware that topic covers.
  7. What is a "Complaint Letter Virus" ? Viruses are a distinct type of malware that are able to Self Replicate. That is they are able to autonomously spread on their own. From file to file. File to computer or computer to file or from computer to computer. Viruses are now a very, very, small component of the malware arena. When it comes to malicious software the terminology "virus" is widely abused and misused. The terminology "Complaint Letter Virus" sounds more like a colloquial term than a real computer virus name like; Jerusalem, Form, Nimda, Parite, WannaCry and Virut.
  8. Newest Malware Threats is where one submits malware or suspicious files. You had posted a "text of experience" and I posted... Instead of following the directions in; I'm infected - What do I do now? you posted a sample submission. In any case, from the Virus Total Report URL, the software was first submitted to Virus Total on 2021-02-01 and it is now March 8th. The file has been known to Virus Total, and its participating vendors, for over a month with zero detections. The file is digitally signed and is not malicious.
  9. In the Malwarebytes for Windows Support Forum there is a thread that has a sequential series of Staff posts for each update whose body has information of what has been included, fixed or enhanced. There are also other good "sticky" threads to read by Staff. Malwarebytes 4.3
  10. No new high level modules have been added in a while. The core of the application went to version 4.3 not long ago. Periodically there are Component Package updates and version 1.0.1173 was the latest.
  11. What a bloody character. Fugitive John McAfee’s location revealed by photo meta-data screw-up Sure enough, the image of John McAfee with Vice’s editor-in-chief Rocco Castoro contains EXIF data that reveals, amongst other things, the GPS latitude and longitude co-ordinates of where it was taken. http://news-sophos.go-vip.net/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2012/12/mcafee-exif.jpg Presumably whoever took the photo on their iPhone 4S had forgotten to turn off location services. http://news-sophos.go-vip.net/wp-content/uploads/si
  12. T-Mobile Faces Yet Another Data Breach
  13. Faking it: the thriving business of “fake alert” web scams ** Much more information information in the Sophos article. References: US FBI PSA - Tech Support Fraud US FTC Consumer Information - Tech Support Scams US FTC - Tech Support Operators Agree to Settle Charges by FTC and the State of Ohio US FTC - FTC and Federal, State and International Partners Announce Major Crackdown on Tech Support Scams Malwarebytes' Blog - Search on - "tech support scams" Malwarebytes' Blog - "Tech support scams: help and resource page"
  14. I get no resolution on pctattleatle.com Looks like a typo and the site is really; www.pctattletale.com based upon the Forum name of pcTattletale
  15. I do not know what "this" email you refer to is and thus I can't determine whether you should keep it or not. I can state that that if you were part of a Breach it is an imperative to have changed the password and use a Strong Password and/or use the @AdvancedSetupsuggested, Multi-factor Authentication.
  16. Here is an actual Romance Scam email with its attached picture... One should look at the Red Flags bedsides an unsolicited Romance contact. Looking at the email, the source IP is which is Telefonica USA, Inc. and the email Domain is terra.com.br which does not corroborate the body of the email statement "...Belarus, in the Soligorsk region". Additionally, the email is initiated by the IP; which is a Tor Exit Node in Germany. Another Red Flag is the email is sent from one email address; "Kseniyushka Iam" <elenisemariac@terra.com.br>"
  17. I am running Windows 7 Ultimate/32 and I have no problem running DOS programs like Quicken v8.0 under Windows NTVDM with MBAM v4.3 in full protection mode. MBAM specifically targets Windows PE files and does not target legacy DOS and Windows applications. I have no knowledge of MBAM modifying the NTVDM, the Win32 Virtual DOS emulator, in Win32 based OS' and which is not provided in any Windows Win64 based OS'.
Back to top
  • Create New...

Important Information

This site uses cookies - We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.